Oliver

Please introduce yourself briefly (name, age, place of residence)

Oliver, 14, Heuberg-Koppl near Salzburg, Austria

Who else belongs to your family?

My brother Xaver, my mother Martina and my father Thomas.

What is your profession? What do you like about it?

I attend the Sport-Realgymnasium in Salzburg. The subjects I like best are sports and physical education.

What do sports in general and mountain biking in particular mean to you?

The highlight of downhill biking for me are the competitions. In general I love the variety of mountain biking, there are so many different techniques and trails that it never gets boring.

Is there anything else for you besides work and mountain biking?

Besides biking, I like to go skiing/ski touring or meet up with friends.

What memories/experiences have you had with MaXalami?

The tubeless repair kits have already saved me an expensive tire change many times.

Have you had any experience with Pepi's Tire Noodle?

When my tire was punctured by a stone in my race run at Semmering, I was able to finish the run safely without causing major damage to the rim.

How do you manage to balance your training with your job and family or friends?

Since my school is very supportive of athletes, I get time off for important training and competitions. My family members and many of my friends also ride MTB, so it's easy to balance that.

How many hours a week do you work and how many do you train?

I am at school 34 hours a week. I also have to adapt my training to the school situation and the weather, but I usually end up with about 10 hours.

Do you adapt your diet to your sport and what do you pay attention to?

I pay attention to a balanced and varied diet. However, I don't have any specific nutritional goals.

What does a typical day during the week look like for you?

Get up at 6:10

6:45 drive to school

7:50 - 13:30 school

14:30 - 17:30 cycling/training

17:45 - 21:00 Studying / meeting friends

 What do you remember most fondly about the past season?

The DH European Championship in Maribor where I finished 2nd.

What are your goals for the 2022 season?

To gain first experience in the European Downhill Cup, to successfully ride the Auner Austrian Gravity Series and to continue to have fun riding downhill.

Thank you for the interview!