Max Friedrich

Please introduce yourself briefly (name, age, place of residence)

Max, 42, Kelkheim in the Taunus Mountains

 

Who else is in your family?

My sister Julia and my brother-in-law Thomas from Warendorf, who take care of me on many races. Their children Laura, Nina and Clara help diligently with MaXalami. Then of course my parents Barbara and Christian, who live in the beautiful Reit im Winkl and also plan their holidays after my race dates.

Otherwise I have many bicycles..

 

What's your profession? What do you like about it?

I am a design engineer for bicycle components. Here I can translate my ideas and knowledge from my own experience into a product.

 

What do sport in general and mountain biking in particular mean to you?

It's always interesting to see what you can do with your body and bring it into shape for a peak. I love the physical exercise in nature and the technique of cycling.

 

Is there anything else for you other than work and mountain biking?

There isn't much time left, but if someone in Kelkheim calls 112, I like to ride in a red car of the volunteer fire fighters.

 

What memories/experiences have you had with MaXalami?

In 2012 I rode the stage race Cape Pioneer Trek in South Africa. It was the first time I got to know this opportunity to repair a tubeless tyre. That fascinated me so much that I started to develop my own tools and market them in Europe. It makes me incredibly proud that our products are already so widely used.

 

Have you had any experience with Pepi's Tire Noodle?

I was one of the first to be authorized to test the PTN Raceline before its market launch. At the German Championship Crosscountry 2017 I rode in the mud with just under 1 bar tire pressure away from all of them. That was a tremendous experience.
After that I really wanted the PTN as a distributor! Now with the new models, I can't even imagine driving without them.

 

How do you manage to reconcile your training with work and family or friends?

"If you really want it, you can do it somehow!

As a self-employed person I can of course divide my time freely and I also come to train regularly. This frees my mind and helps me to handle this high workload.

 

How many hours a week do you work and how many do you train?

My work is my passion. I don't count the working hours, but I try to keep a low profile so that I don't have sleep disorders. Training is between 12 and 15 hours per week.

 

Do you adapt your diet to your sport and what do you pay attention to?

Over the years, of course, I have built up a feeling for what does me good and what doesn't. The former pasta orgies are now a thing of the past.

I just eat what I feel like eating and that's usually what my body needs.

 

What does a typical day during the week look like for you?

7:00 Getting up

07:10-9:00 work and drink half a liter of Rooibos tea

09:00-9:15 Breakfast: mostly fruit salad and muesli

I'm trying to focus on eating away from the computer.

10:00 Cappuccino from my EMC machine

9:20-13:00 work

13:00-15:30 Training

15:30-16:30 Food and possibly a nap at noon

16:30 Cappuccino from my EMC machine

16:30->20:00 work

 

What do you remember most about the past season?

In the past season, I've ridden as few races as I've never done in the last 26 years. But I made a lot of nice experiences at the events with MaXalami and met nice people. I got a taste of the Enduro format and found my joy in it. Using the cable car can also be quite nice...

 

What goals have you set yourself for the 2020 season?

I would like to be on the podium again at the German CrossCounty Championship.

I'm also looking forward to the e-bike events with Texpa Simplon.