Mathias Frohn

Mathias Frohn

Please introduce yourself briefly (name, age, place of residence)
My name is Mathias Frohn, I am 34 years old and live in Düsseldorf since eleven years. I was born in the Eifel.

Who else belongs to your family?
I live (and race sometimes) together with my girlfriend Sabine.
What is your profession? What do you like about it?
I work for the Düsseldorf professional fire brigade and no two days are the same, both on the fire engine and in the rescue service.


What do sport in general and mountain biking in particular mean to you?
For me, sport is a balance from everyday life and I can live out my full potential in competition. MTB offers me the right mix of fitness and coordination.


Is there anything else for you other than work and mountain biking?
I go climbing and running with my girlfriend as a balance to sitting on the bike.


What memories/experiences have you had with MaXalami?
Long distance at the 3 Valleys MTB Marathon in Titmaringhausen: flat tire halfway through the race. Thanks to MaXalami, I was able to patch it up within 90 seconds, get back to the top and then win the race.
Spontaneously I remember other races where I could still finish on the podium after Platten and MaXalami.
At least three MaXalami per tyre are fitted to my training wheels and I NEVER lost one MaXalami per tyre. They hold them for eternity!


How do you manage to reconcile your training with work and family or friends?
At the fire station I usually go on a treadmill and after 24 hours on duty I always have at least 24 hours off, so you can train well. Finding training partners in the middle of the day is not easy but possible.


How many hours a week do you work and how many do you train?
Work on average 48h, training 12-16h, including MTB, cyclocross, running and climbing.


Do you adapt your diet to your sport and what do you pay attention to?
I have a balanced, wholesome diet and eat very little meat.
Before important competitions I count on cooked oats for breakfast and highly concentrated maltodextrin in my drinking bottles during the race.


What does a typical day during the week look like for you?
I come off duty by bike, have breakfast at 8 a.m., relax or lie down briefly and do household chores, train cycling at noon, then have lunch in the afternoon and maybe climb or run with my girlfriend in the evening. At 23 o'clock in bed.


What do you particularly like to remember in the past season?
Besides my DM title in the Masters 1 class this year at the race in my Eifel, for which I had to wait 4 years, I like to remember my victory at the Gallahaan Trail in Boppard.
Standing at the starting line next to marathon greats like Joris Massaer (former Belgian champion), Bas Peters (participant Olympia) and Roel Verhoeven (4th Transalp Challenge), whom I had never beaten before, I thought it would be hard to get a podium place today.
The start was at a hell of a pace and I just hung on the back of the group, which consisted of the three usual suspects. I found my way into the race better and better and was able to win in the end. Man to man and without anyone suffering a defect or fall. This was one of the best races of my career.

 

What are your goals for the 2020 season?
To defend my Masters 1 DM title. Unfortunately it is already in April.
To drive the stage race Rally di Romagna in Italy well, maybe even to win.
To do well at the EM Crossduathlon in Romania.
To contest some marathon races in Germany, which I don't know yet.

Matze, thank you very much for the interview. We keep our fingers crossed for you!